WWII Female Pilots to be Buried at Arlington National Cemetery

The WASPs (Women’s Air Force Service Pilots) will finally be laid to rest and honored in its national cemetery.

HR 4336 was signed into law by the President on May 20, 2016, a victory for the families who sought to bury their loved ones at Arlington National Cemetery.


take our poll - story continues below

Should Jim Acosta have gotten his press pass back?

  • Should Jim Acosta have gotten his press pass back?  

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Completing this poll grants you access to The Constitution updates free of charge. You may opt out at anytime. You also agree to this site's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Trending: Watch Obama Trash the USA 18 Different Times During His Recent Trip Abroad

Uncle Sam’s site writes of these women:

The women pilots trained combat pilots. They test-flew repaired military aircraft. They towed airborne targets so the men could shoot live-fire rounds at them. They were subject to living in a barracks and military discipline.

Their Commander, Gen. Henry H. “Hap” Arnold, created the unit with the intention of it becoming a full military unit…but he was denied. And there are only about 100 or so women left alive- all of whom are in their 90’s.

The WASPS had been declared “active duty military” by law since 1977. There were originally 1,000 WASPs.



When 2nd Lt. Elaine Harmon, a WASP, died in 2015, her family asked for her to be buried in Arlington National Cemetery and their request was denied. The family fought to have her buried there, and on May 20, 2016, their “mission was accomplished.”

Thanks to legislators, historians, family members, other WASPs and their families, Congresswoman [score]Martha McSally[/score], an Air Force veteran, introduced HR 4336, which had 191 cosponsors.


H/T Uncle Sam’s Misguided Children

H/T ConservativeFiringLine.com



Constitution.com 🇺🇸

I am the supreme law of the United States. Originally comprising seven articles, I delineate the national frame of government. My first three articles entrench the doctrine of the separation of powers, whereby the federal government is divided into three branches: the legislative, consisting of the bicameral Congress; the executive, consisting of the President; and the judicial, consisting of the Supreme Court and other federal courts. Articles Four, Five and Six entrench concepts of federalism, describing the rights and responsibilities of state governments and of the states in relationship to the federal government. Article Seven establishes the procedure subsequently used by the thirteen States to ratify it. I am regarded as the oldest written and codified constitution in force of the world.

Please leave your comments below

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.